Recent builds: Confusing and Ineffective

Up until the release of 7.1.2, Tribler was working well for me, as I have been using it for a few years, on various forms of Debian. But since then, and also with 7.1.3, downloading has come to a halt. It doesn’t seem to matter what my up/down ratio is for any torrent. And it doesn’t seem to matter what I mine.

Before I get to my main problem, I need to say this about Credit Mining: It just “smells bad”.

• It seems to be a special kind of download subscription for downloads I mostly don’t want
  • There seems to be no way of knowing whether any other Tribler user wants them either (and why would they, since we all now are encouraged to mine something to get credits? We’re all serving the same dish to each other.)
  • I have seen files begin to download, and I find some of the names interesting so I anticipate them being downloaded, and then they just disappear before completing.
  • Mined torrents default to the least anonymity, and yet the user simultaneously has the least amount of control over what gets downloaded (as compared to downloading via magnet link, with higher anonymity). We don’t really know what is going to appear in these channels at all.
  • The download process is so slow, I’ve rarely seen anything over a few percent complete, except on some tiny torrents like text.
  • The token balance only ever seems to become more negative, even when all of my wanted downloads are stopped.
  • There is a logical disconnect between seeding other Tribler users’ torrents to other Tribler users, and simply participating in the anonymization network, receiving and forwarding things on to other clients. My client shouldn’t have to know anything about a block of content simply to receive it from one machine, encrypt it one level, and pass it along to another machine.